DCS student Sana Omprakash Kayyar of Uganda has won the silver medal in the under 14 girls category in African Youth Chess Championship held in Zambia from 3rd to 9th July 2022.


Sana Omprakash Kayyar

Elo 1412

Runner Up in National under 9 chess championship in 2004, also won Silver in Asian School chess championship, Ekalavya Awardee,Former Karnataka Champion, presently holds IM title and Grandmaster Norms.

Viani Dcunha

I.M. Viani Antonio D'Cunha

Elo 2397 (2001-2006 in DCS)

Holds FIDE Master title, Former State Champion.


F.M. Gahan M G

Elo 2279 (2001-2006 in DCS)

holds Woman International Master title, has won Karnataka Womens' Championship and age group championships

Isha Sharma

W.I.M. Isha Sharma

Elo 2236 (has learnt basics from Derik's Chess School)

4th in Under 14 Girls Asian Youth Chess in 2003, Karnataka's first woman FIDE rated player, First state champion from DCS (2002)

Pallavi Maiya

Pallavi Maiya (2001-2005 in DCS)

Elo 1984

Gold Medal in National SGFI Chess Championship in Under 17 Boys in 2003 (maiden national medal in school games for Karnataka)

Vikram Saralaya

Vikram Saralaya (2001-2004 in DCS)

Elo 2150

Gold Medal in National SGFI Chess Championship in Under 17 Girls in 2003 (maiden national medal in school games for Karnataka)

Irol Pinto

Irol Pinto (2001-2005 in DCS)

Individual Bronze & Team gold in Under 7 girls in Asian School Chess Championship in 2006


Ankitha R (2005-2007 in DCS)

Team Gold & individual 6th in Under 13 World School Chess Championship in 2007, 5th in Under 13 Asian School chess Championship in 2006


Adith Jagadish (2005-2008 in DCS)

Elo 1997

Silver medal in Under 13 in Asian School chess Championship in 2008, Team silver in World School Chess championship in 2008 & Bronze Medal in National under 13 Chess Championship 2008


Nihal Manjunath (2006-2012 in DCS)

Elo 2058

All from Lourdes Central School - Winners of prestigious National CBSE Chess Championship for Under 14 category in 2007


Adith Jagadish, Nihal Manjunath, Yashes Salian, Rammohan Bhandary & Akash Harendranath

Former State Womens' champion, Gold medal in Under 16 Girls category in the 4th Swensen's International Open RapidAge Group Chess Championship 2013 at Malaysia, Winner of many age group championships in Karnataka Girls


Andria Lourdes D'Souza (2004-2013 in DCS)

Elo 1786

Silver Medal in International intervarsity chess championship in 2015, Vanessa D'souza also won individual bronze in Women

Viani D'cunha ( Photo-courtesy-daijiworld)

Viani D'Cunha, Gahan MG & Vanessa D'Souza (2004-2010 in DCS)

Has won many Gold, Silver, Bronze medals in National school games, Champion in many age group state championships


Vanessa D'Souza (2004-2011 in DCS)

Elo 1833

Karnataka State Champion 2021, also had won many age group state Championships (Under 7,9,11,13,15 etc)

Sharan Rao

Sharan Rao (2007-2014 in DCS)

Elo 2051

Gold medal in the Under 14 Boys category in '3rd Swensen's International Open Rapid Age Group Chess Championship 2012 at Malaysia


Akhil R M (2010-2013 in DCS)

Elo 1684

Won Bronze Medal in Under 7 Schools World Chess Championship at Romania in 2017 also earned WCM (Woman candidate Master Title)

Shriyana Mallya

WCM Shriyana Mallya (2016-2018 in DCS)

Elo 1277

Secured second place in Under 8 Open in North American Youth Chess Championship in 2019


Aaron Reeve Mendes (2018-19in DCS)

Elo 1520

Has won Gold medal in Kendriya Vidyalaya's National Championship in Kanapur in 2012 in Under 14 category In 2013, in Chandigarh, he won the Gold medal again this time in Under 17 category.



Elo 1775